top of page
  • Muzik First


After several singles, the soundtrack for the new movie musical "Dear Evan Hansen" has finally been released. The film is also now in theatres everywhere. "Dear Evan Hansen" centers on the title character who embarks on a journey of self-discovery when a letter he wrote for a writing exercise falls into the hands of a grieving couple whose son took his own life. Ben Platt reprises the title role after winning a Tony Award for his performance on Broadway. The film's cast also includes Oscar winner Julianne Moore as Evan's mom Heidi, Oscar nominee Amy Adams as Cynthia Murphy, Danny Pino as Larry Murphy, Dever as Zoe Murphy, and Nik Dodani as Jared Kleinman. The soundtrack features popular songs like "Waving Through a Window" and "You Will Be Found," in addition to the new tracks "The Anonymous Ones" and "A Little Closer." There are also covers from stars like Sam Smith, Carrie Underwood, SZA, and Tori Kelly. "Dear Evan Hansen" began previews at the Music Box on November 14, 2016, before an official opening on December 4. The musical was nominated for nine 2017 Tony Awards, winning six: Best Musical, Best Book of a Musical, Best Original Score, Best Actor in a Leading Role in a Musical (Platt), Best Featured Actress in a Leading Role in a Musical (Rachel Bay Jones), and Best Orchestrations. The musical will return from its coronavirus-caused hiatus beginning December 11, with Jordan Fisher back in the title role.

bottom of page