top of page
  • Muzik First


The band Chvrches consists of Lauren Mayberry, Iain Cook, Martin Doherty and, unofficially since 2018, Jonny Scott, who released a marvellous return to form, "Screen Violence," which featured singles “Good Girls” and “He Said She Said,” plus a collaboration with The Cure’s Robert Smith (“How Not To Drown“). The Glasgow synth-pop trio has released a “Director’s Cut” edition of the horror-inspired album featuring three tracks that were “intended to be included” on the original. Sharing "Killer," "Bitter End," and "Screaming," Lauren Mayberry says, “This album was thematically so different to previous CHVRCHES albums that it would have been rude of us to let Halloween come and go without injecting some more Screen Violence into it. ‘Killer,’ ‘Bitter End,’ and ‘Screaming’ started in 2020 and finished just after release. As any good horror fan knows, just because the film ends, it doesn’t mean the story does.” "Screen Violence" is also the first Chvrches studio album to not have a track where Martin Doherty provides the main vocals; however, Doherty does sing the bridge on "Violent Delights." Since releasing ‘Screen Violence,’ the band has performed covers of Avril Lavigne’s "I’m With You" for an Apple Music Home Session and "The Lost Boys" theme "Cry Little Sister" for the new Netflix film "Nightbooks" starring Krysten Ritter, Winslow Fegley, and Lidya Jewett. Next month, CHVRCHES will kick off a supporting North American tour.

bottom of page