top of page
  • Muzik First


Irish singer-songwriter James Vincent McMorrow released his long-awaited fifth studio album "Grapefruit Season" on September 17, 2021, via Sony Music Entertainment UK Limited. Produced by James alongside fellow genre-disruptors Paul Epworth, Kenny Beats, Lil Silva and Patrick Wimberly (Chairlift), the album was recorded between London, Los Angeles and Dublin primarily before the pandemic struck. It embraces the fact that life is chaos and the idea of growing up but feeling none the wiser. It serves as his first album since the 2017 album "True Care" in four years. The album comprises of 14-track, featuring a guest appearance from Kenny Beats. Each song is held together by his instantly identifiable voice, an untethered musical imagination, and from dancehall to soul, country to R&B purposefully little else in its pursuit of fear-free pop music. Initially, he planned to release the album in 2020, but it was shelved by the label twice until the summer of 2021 due to the COVID-19 pandemic and again until September. The album title is inspired by James Vincent McMorrow watching his mum eat grapefruit as a kid and the idea that what's good for you may not be pleasurable. There are moments of greatness feathered throughout this new collection, but 'Grapefruit Season' has this unfocused thread running throughout where it feels as if McMorrow is now unsure of the artist he would like to become.

bottom of page