top of page
  • Muzik First


The hip-hop icon has released his new album "The Algorithm" for his Def Jam debut. The 25-track collection showcases Def Jam’s roster of talent, including Fabolous, Jadakiss, Dave East, and YK Osiris. Snoop’s supergroup Mount Westmore, including Ice Cube, E-40, and Too $hort, join forces on the lead single “Big Subwoofer.” Redman and Method Man reunite on “Alright,” while Uncle Snoop taps Usher and Eric Bellinger for “New Oldie.” The second single, "Murder Music," was released earlier this month, featuring guest rappers Benny The Butcher, Jadakiss and Busta Rhymes. Also, Def Jam’s newest signee, Benny the Butcher, links up with Jadakiss and Busta Rhymes on “Murder Music,” while Mary J. Blige adds some sparkle to “Diamond Life” with DJ Cassidy. “There’s so much talent on this record, so many styles of music, it breaks the algorithm,” Snoop said in a statement. “Right now, the algorithm is telling us you have to rap this way, you have to sound this way, but they’re not telling you how it’s supposed to feel. My algorithm is going to give you a feeling, not a sound.” When Snoop Dogg joined Def Jam Recordings, a division of Universal Music Group (UMG), announced in June, he took over a new role that will allow him to work across the label’s executive team strategically and artist roster. His main focus, he emphasized, would be “to help the artists and give them love and wisdom and guidance and understanding, teach them some tricks that I learned in the game — to diversify their portfolios to be superstars.”

bottom of page