top of page
  • Muzik First


Grammy-award-winning Afrobeats star Wizkid has finally released the deluxe edition of his album “Made In Lagos." The project adds 3 new tracks to the previous 14-track album, making 18 tracks altogether. The new tracks include “Anoti, “Mood,” featuring Buju, “Steady,” and “Essence” remix featuring Tems and Canadian singer Justin Bieber. The 14-track album came after an uncertain run for Wizkid, which included the poor "Soundman Vol. 1." Many listeners didn’t know what to expect, but "Smile" featuring H.E.R, a risque choice for a single, offered some respite and hope. But sonically, ‘Made In Lagos’ is an excellently A&Red body of work, which deftly played on and amplified Wizkid’s strengths as a 10-year veteran of the African music industry, with influences from across the global black musical landscape, without taking unnecessary creative risks that could expose certain artistic flaws. The sonic excellence of the album made optimists overlook its flaws, and over the past 10 months, "Made In Lagos" has undoubtedly become Africa’s No. 1 album, with no competition in sight. This run has also propelled Wizkid onto a record-breaking, chart-topping stratosphere. ‘His single "Essence" currently sits at No. 16 on the Billboard Hot 100, thanks to proper creative marketing by RCA and a timely remix, featuring Justin Bieber, after the record had reached No. 54 by itself.

bottom of page