• Muzik First


A new song is out from the late rock legend’s never-released album "Welcome 2 America," which Prince recorded in 2010. “Born 2 Die” is five minutes of pure groove — inspired, as is the rest of the album, by early Obama-era politics and the ongoing struggles of Black Americans. The jazzy, slow-burn track "Born 2 Die" has the familiar slow-rolling bass and world-weariness of a classic Mayfield composition and, according to a description on the track's YouTube page, it was born of a kind of righteous challenge presented to the star during the sessions for his upcoming posthumous collection "Welcome 2 America" that will hear for the first time on July 30. "Welcome 2 America" will feature 12 songs, 11 originals and a cover of Soul Asylum's "Stand Up and B Strong," none of which have been officially released. Prince's 1998 album, "The Truth," will be issued for the first time as a standalone release on June 12 as part of this year's Record Store Day's RSD Drop; the collection was originally released as part of the "Crystal Ball" triple album.